JeffCNC Service Center

CAM POST CUSTOMIZE AND DATA SUPPLY

CNC Forum

Forum Home > EdgeCAM and Others CAM > Mastercam vs EdgeCam

JEFFCNC
Site Owner

permalink:

I am currently a Mastercam user but I am considering switching jobs. Does anyone here have any experience with both Mastercam and EdgeCAM? The new job uses EdgeCAM and I am unfamiliar with it.

kendo:

I have very little experience with both mastercam X and edgecam v12

but thats enough to tell you to keep your job, or maybe you can switch me.

I'm sitting here all morning wishing I had a mastercam job, edgecam is making me so mad

I never had a problem doing anything in mastercam, the program is very intuitive, I learned completely on my own by watching a tutorial for v9, and by playing around with the program. And I was playing with a pirated version at home just to get a feel for cam. Everything worked as it should however, and I went from never seeing camware to being able to program 3d solids in about a week.

On the other hand, my company wouldn't buy mastercam, and bought edgecam instead. That was almost a year ago, and I feel like I've been wasting time ever since. I don't use it at all unless theres something I just cant do on my own (not too often at this job)

Support is such a joke, just look at this forum. So many unanswered questions, so little activity, threads sit idle for weeks, for about a week recently there wasnt a single post made in this forum.

Now compare that to e-mastercam.com